RSS

Buffet 101: International Cuisine

22 Jul

Are you a food enthusiast? Do you want to go to different countries just so you can try out their very own trademark cuisines? Is your budget constraining you from doing such?

Well, mourn no more ’cause I have found the right place for the food lovers!

Buffet 101 is one of the few budget buffet restaurants with class that you can find along the metro. Their eat-all-you-can buffet is very affordable at P699.00 per head only! You can indulge in all the food served on the table with unlimited drinks that you can choose from!

Located at Seaside Blvd. SM Mall of Asia Complex Central Business Park, Pasay City

What kinds of food are served at Buffet 101?

After wandering around I have come to know what kinds of cuisines are served, I found mostly Filipino, Japanese, Chinese, Thai, Korean, American and Italian cuisines. If there’s something lacking, that would probably be Indian and Persian cuisine (or I just didn’t notice).

What did I have for the day?

Here’s the part where I give a roll call of all the food that are now being processed inside my stomach and will probably be out of my system in a few hours. Okay that’s a gross introduction. HAHAHA!

On buffets, I don’t eat rice because it is a party pooper. Why is that so? Rice basically can make one easily full and when that happens, you won’t be able to try out everything that the place has to offer.

I had clam chowder, salad and sushi for starters. That’s a lot for starters ei? I shared my clam chowder, which wasn’t the best I had, with my mom and the tossed salad with my great granny. The other salads and sushi, I ate all by myself.

Clam Chowder covered with soft bread

Tossed Salad

I enjoyed the Kani Salad the most (it’s my favorite salad) but I also enjoyed the Potato Ball which has corn bits mixed in it. The Thai Grapefruit Salad was just okay but it wasn’t my type because of its sour tang.

Japanese Kani Salad (left)
Thai Grapefruit Salad (top)
Potato Salad Ball (bottom)

Don’t be shocked. I didn’t consume all of these sushi. I only got few because most sushi are rice-based. I only got Salmon Sashimi (raw salmon cuts found in the middle photo, lower right), Tamago Hanna (sushi with egg found at the last photo, 4th column) and Ebi Sushi (shrimp sushi found at the last photo, 7th column) which all tasted good!

Sushi Section

Their Thai Spicy Fish Fillet also tasted good. I don’t remember it being spicy though. I can still remember how this dish tasted and it is something that you should really try when you get to go to the place.

Thai Spicy Fish Fillet

These next selections are way bigger than how it looks on the photo. These are also one of those that you should not miss not only because of its mouth-watering taste but also because of practicality reasons. These selections are quite expensive for single orders so at least 2 cuts for each will already make the price you payed for so much worth it.

US Beef Prime Ribs is best consumed with their beef gravy while their Barbeque Pork Ribs with their signature barbeque sauce.

US Beef Prime Ribs (Right)
Barbeque Pork Ribs (Left)

Unlike other buffet restaurants where you have to wait for the refill of your favorite seafood, you can have it requested in Buffet 101 so you wouldn’t have to standby at the buffet area. All you have to do is go to their grill station, tell the crew what type of seafood you want to grill and give your table number. Before you know it, your grilled seafood selection will be served on your table.

Grill Selection

Tada! Here are all the seafoods (grilled and not) we got for the first round. It’s yummier than the photo, so could you just imagine? :p

Grilled Seafood

Right at the end of the buffet feast are the Chinese dishes. There are dimsums and noodles, which will be prepared fresh for you, available. I wasn’t up for anything Chinese that day so I only went for the Chicken Roll with Vegetables in hoisen sauce. I was in a hurry to dive into my crab party galore so I wasn’t able to savor the Chicken Roll quite well. But my vague memory says it was a good one.

Chinese Section

Like what I mentioned, all their drinks are unlimited- from soft drinks, fruit juices, fruit shakes, coffee, tea and even beer. I only tried out all their fruit shakes (watermelon, papaya and pineapple). They were really refreshing. :)

Shake Station

Watermelon Shake

Here are all the desserts. They have it all- ice cream, cake, cupcakes, brownies, pastries. I always look forward to desserts. The dessert rack is always the first thing I look for in buffets.

Dessert Selection

My customized Belgian waffle was my favorite. I went to the ice cream stand (Nestle) and put some vanilla ice cream on my waffle. There was no chocolate syrup available for the waffle so I used the fondu for my syrup. I loved the waffle because it was made the way I wanted it, crunchy.

Customized Belgian Waffle Dessert

Their mango cheesecake and mocha panna cotta were also a delightful dessert. I loved every single bite of it.

Mango Cheesecake & Mocha Panna Cotta

The last I had was coffee. I was supposed to get the Italian Espresso but my mom said it was too strong. So I chose a lighter coffee for my afters. It’s bitterness was tolerable and was very creamy on the side. Coffee is perfect after eating way more than the usual.

Columbian Emerald Mountain

I had a lot to eat today. If I could just stay there for hours, I would! I also realized that being a food blogger is not much of an easy task to do because you have to take good food shots even though you are at the peak of craving and starvation. Nevertheless, I like what I’m doing and I want to keep sharing my experiences with you readers. So I hope you keep reading my blog entries. :)

Xoxo,

CHAMMY ♥

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2012 in The Food Encounter

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Buffet 101: International Cuisine

  1. sillybluff

    July 22, 2012 at 10:06 PM

    where is this located? =)

     
    • chamnolasco

      July 23, 2012 at 1:07 PM

      It’s located at Seaside Blvd. SM Mall of Asia Complex Central Business Park, Pasay City. You should pay a visit sometime. :)

       
  2. petit4chocolatier

    July 22, 2012 at 8:59 PM

    Wow! This definitely does not look like a buffet. I am not a buffet diner but everything here looks divine! Especially the drinks, dessert, and coffee.

     

Tell Me What You Think. =)

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,171 other followers

